

South Dakota Agricultural Land Trust 116 North Euclid Avenue Pierre, SD 57501

The bridgings come to display. The fit may have been moved, valued, or delete, many that the life joint some character decides.

Board of Directors

Lyle Perman President

Mike McKernan Vice President

Charlie Hoffman Secretary

Karl Jensen Treasurer

Scott Jones

Ed Blair

Jim Faulstich

Mark Goldammer

Roger Hainy

Jeff Smeenk

Todd Mortenson

Trevor Williams

Executive Director

Tony Leif

(605) 280-2378 SDaglandtrustED@ outlook.com www.sdaglandtrust.com

Our mission is to conserve South Dakota's agricultural heritage and working landscapes for the benefit of future generations.

The South Dakota Agricultural Land Trust (SDALT) is a non-profit agriculture-based land trust providing South Dakota farmers and ranchers with a conservation organization that understands their business. SDALT offers conservation solutions to producers throughout the state, assisting landowners in achieving their conservation and operational goals. SDALT works to conserve agricultural landscapes and economically viable farms and ranches through voluntary, incentive-based methods; the land trust does not actively solicit conservation easements from producers.

PARTNERS:

South Dakota Cattlemen's Association South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts South Dakota Grassland Coalition South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation

MISSION STATEMENT:

Conserve South Dakota's agricultural heritage and working landscapes for the benefit of future generations.

ORGANIZATIONAL VALUES

- **Heritage** We are dedicated to the agricultural families we were founded to serve and to promoting and preserving the agricultural heritage, private land stewardship, and rural way of life that has always defined South Dakota.
- **Leadership** We advocate for agriculture and agricultural families to ensure that the primary focus of land conservation in South Dakota is conserving the land and working with the families that produce the food and fiber that feeds the world.
- **Transparency** We are committed to operational and financial transparency while recognizing the sensitive nature of our work and protecting the privacy of our landowners and donors.
- **Discipline** We remain steadfast in our commitment to create and implement conservation strategies that work for agricultural lands and agricultural producers.
- **Creativity** We strive to be an innovator in conservation and conservation policy with a focus on the human elements of land conservation.
- Result Driven We base our success on results. Our metrics will be rooted in the working lands
 that are permanently conserved (i.e. the land that remains available for agricultural production),
 achieving the goals of the agricultural families with whom we work, and the overall outreach to the
 general public about the importance of conserving agriculture, productive land, agricultural
 families, rural communities and our heritage.
- **Perpetuity** We operate and make decisions based on our perpetual obligations to the conservation easements we steward and the agricultural lands and families we serve.

NEED/DEMAND:

A feasibility study completed in 2017 concluded that development an agriculture-based land trust with a leadership who understands production agriculture could serve current needs and meet the future conservation goals of producers in South Dakota.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) received more than 200 landowner inquiries about the Agricultural Land Easement conservation funding program in 2017. Due to statutory limitations that require a third-party entity to hold the ALE easement, NRCS generally is not able to service the ALE demand in South Dakota. IN addition, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service receives



benefit of future generations.

South Dakota Agricultural Land Trust 116 North Euclid Avenue Pierre, SD 57501

approximately 500 applications for wetlands easement programs each year but can only service 100 to **Board of Directors** 120 landowners each year. Lyle Perman President Mike McKernan Vice President Charlie Hoffman Secretary Karl Jensen Treasurer Scott Jones Ed Blair Jim Faulstich Mark Goldammer Roger Hainy Jeff Smeenk **Todd Mortenson** Trevor Williams **Executive Director** Tony Leif (605) 280-2378 ${\sf SDaglandtrustED@}$ outlook.com www.sdaglandtrust.com Our mission is to conserve South Dakota's agricultural heritage and working landscapes for the